PDA

View Full Version : Do you work in an industry you studied for in high school or college?

cico7
01-19-2012, 05:42 AM
I sucked at math and well most of my high-school classes.
I sell insurance and have been successful in selling retirement
plans to businesses and helping people invest 401k money.

I was the go-to person on figuring out errors in finance plans.

Who knew! I certainly didnt study this in school nor did I go
to college for it. So I am way out of what I expected to do.

How about you?

Matt
01-19-2012, 05:51 AM
In 6th grade my guidance counselor asked me "what do you want to be when you grow up?".

I said, "I want to be an engineer!!"
She responded, "oh that's great! You want to drive a choo choo train?".......
Ugh.......

End of story, I'm doing what I planned to do since a VERY young age.... and its not driving a choo choo train! Lol

pjmjr508
01-19-2012, 05:58 AM
MY father was in computers while I was growing up so was exposed at a young age.
My degree is in Network Management & now work in a NOC.

LWM
01-19-2012, 06:19 AM
I had no plans in High School other than to get out of the small town I grew up in (that I accomplished). College was theology, so I did for many years but not currently so I voted not even close.

Carn75
01-19-2012, 06:41 AM