PDA

View Full Version : What length CB Antenna? CB Newbie

BonesWK
04-04-2012, 05:22 AM
Hey Guys,

Ive been looking around at all the cb threads and pretty much nailed down what radio, antenna mount etc. to get. Im stuck on a length of antenna to get. Im looking at fiberglass firestik type of antennas.

I see some running 3' and some running 4'. For some odd reason on amazon the 4' firestik is cheaper. Anyways any pros or cons to length?

I dont park in my garage nor park in the parking deck here at work so either length wont matter in that aspect. I will mainly be using this CB for trail use I guess. I have never owned a CB before so I dont know what else people do with them, talk on the highway? Yes im a noob.

Matt
04-04-2012, 06:04 AM
I went with the 4' because I mounted mine off the front bumper so it sits lower. If it was mounted higher I would get the 3'.

For trail use, either is more than sufficient. You're going to be limited by the weakest link in the group which is going to be someone with a basic handheld anyways (which I've found is still good for most trail rides, even when the group splits).

Either way, go with the tuneable tip.

Sal-XK
04-04-2012, 06:33 AM
Every thing Matt said I went with whatever setup got the tip above the roof line not much just above it for longer range since I wheel in drastic elevation changes. Last trip we couldn't hear the dude we sent to the top of the hill so I went up and could hear and talk to the bottom of the hill no problem.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DetroitMarauder
04-04-2012, 09:02 AM
Generally the higher the better. But that depends on your use as well. Make sure you get a spring too. They're less than ten bucks and will save you from having to buy a new antenna after every trip.

NeilSmith
04-04-2012, 10:00 AM
you really need to be up above the roof and any roof rack you may have. order you a spring and a quick - disconnect also. i got all Firestick stuff ( from Amazon )

BonesWK
04-04-2012, 10:24 AM