PDA

View Full Version : Tire Wear After 2 Inch Lift

Kudzu
07-09-2012, 10:25 AM
Hi all, I recently purchased a 2006 XK which had just gotten a 2 inch Rough Country lift and brand new Sahara wheels and tires (Bridgestones). The tires have about 2,000 miles on them and I've noticed considerably uneven wear with the front pair. The rear tireS are in excellent shape, even wear and pretty much all of the original tread depth! But the fronts are wearing heavy on the outside.

I have no experience with IFS trucks, so I was wondering if you guys had any input on how the tires wear on these rigs. I'm really interested in hearing what the lift does to the alignment geometry. The only adjustment that's under there (from what I can tell) is the tie-rods, which adjust toe-in and that's not my current problem. Is the only correction for this to replace the knuckle? I am rotating the tire shortly, but I'd like to correct the issue before I burn through 4 new tires.

So my question is, have you had this problem, and how can it be corrected?

Thanks,
-Will

07JeepXK
07-09-2012, 10:35 AM
The alignment is made by the lower control arms and the tie rods. Has it benn aligned since the lift? I had the same problem with my Commander. Went to many different shops to include the dealer and no one could get the alignment close enough so I wouldn't have tire wear. Simply fix.. Order Rocky Road Outfitters Upper Control Arms!! I have the JBA and now my alignment is dead on with no tire wear. JBA will give you slight rubbing on the front coil during max down travel of the front end if you don't buy their coil over along system along with the upper control arms. Not really a big deal at all if you dont off road but it's just easier and cheaper to go with the rocky road

stites-xk
07-09-2012, 10:44 AM