PDA

View Full Version : Trail Tools discussion- Power Tools

Matt
05-20-2011, 03:07 PM
So i had a good conversation with a friend at work today who has a JK lifted on 35s.

The conversation started when I mentioned the VIAIR 400P OBA kit that i'm looking at, its $250 and looks like a nice kit for filling tires. He said that he's saving up for an OBA kit that can run air tools... here's where the discussion got good. A little background, i used to be a mechanic so I have an extensive air tool collection (and quality stuff at that, not "budget" equipment that you can get at Home Depot, Lowes, etc). He doesn't have any air tools, which you'll see really made him love my idea.

I ran a pretty sweet OBA setup years ago that was 2 high CFM VIAIR pumps into a 5 gallon tank. While it was "ok" for running an impact, it was practically useless for running any tools that required constant pressure at high flow rate (like a grinder). So to recap, my $1000 OBA kit left a lot to be desired for running tools; even quality tools. Granted working in a shop with an endless supply of air and having my own 60 gallon compressor at home makes me a bit bias... but it also gives me a good basis for how tools should work.

I then broke it out for him:
$1000-$1500 (depending on the setup he was looking at) for his air supply kit
$100 for a cheap impact gun, $300 for a good one
$50-$100 for a cutoff tool (which sucks to use without a large tank or really high CFM pump)

So he's basically looking at spending $1500-$2000 depending on what OBA kit he gets and what tools he buys.. and his capabilities are basically a SWEET super fast tire inflator and mediocre air tool performance that's limited to a vicinity around his jeep due to the umbilical cord air line.

Then I gave him my recommendation: