PDA

View Full Version : What parts should I be watching for problems now that I am lifted and wheeling more?

Holaday07 4.7
07-26-2011, 12:39 PM
I took the Jeep and left my Altima for the old lady today, and everything still seems fairly tight for steering, but maybe a little pull to the left. Just wondered what you guys thought would wear out first. I am no mechanic, and really can't do much more than brakes and oil changes, but some advice as to what I need to watch would be really helpful. This is our "Minivan" so I want it as safe as possible for the family.

Thanks for any help

Matt
07-26-2011, 12:57 PM
CV boots, balljoints, tie rods, steering rack&pinion, serpentine belt, air filter

Change drivetrain fluids often, especially after driving through deeper than expected water (fluid gets ingested through the seals)

Holaday07 4.7
07-26-2011, 01:01 PM
cool, maybe this weekend I will tackle the diffs and Tcase. The air filter is stark white, and I will set up a routine on these parts. Thanks man, I appreciate advice.

Matt
07-26-2011, 01:13 PM
Yeah man you just Want to keep an eye on stuff. If you hear a strange noise or it drives funny, don't wait until a catastrophic failure.... inspect it.

Doc in AZ
07-26-2011, 01:30 PM
depending on the amount of lift you need to watch the following

CV joint angle - jack your rig up off the ground and turn the front wheels and feel if there is any binding or clicking. while it may only happen at full droop, it will begin to wear with regular road milage as the suspension travels.

Ball joints - the arms i took off jon's rig were completely shot, the threaded part of the ball joint was just dangling there, completely blown out

tire wear - watch for cupping, feathering & other unever wear patterns, make sure you have it aligned after you install the lift